Sleep, Mothers, And Chocolate Bars

When I lost my job a few years ago I discovered the joys of insomnia shortly after. I’d dealt with sleeplessness briefly when I was younger, but nothing to this extent. At it’s worst I was totaling 10-15 hours of sleep a week.

It’s not nearly that bad now, but I rarely get restful sleep. With sleep aids. Without. Doesn’t really matter.

Recently I’ve been taking Ambien (with the approval of my doctor) and guys, I LOVE IT. I can’t take it long-term because it’s addictive, but I’ve taken it before and it works miracles for me. I could wax poetic about how much I love it, but I’ll spare you.

I posted this the other night all, “WEEE! SLEEP!”

Wanna know how to find out if you’ve got a bunch of moms following you on Instagram? Post a picture of a prescription sleep aid. My goodness y’all are a bunch of worriers. And while I appreciate it, rest assured, there’s no driving or sleep walking. There’s no ordering doll heads in the middle of the night. I put my ass to bed before I’ve even popped the pill.

You may commence with the unclenching. Kiss, kiss.

Unrelated, but possibly more importantly Casey and I are in the middle of a debate. I was introduced to the amazingness that is the dark chocolate, caramel and Hawaiian black sea salt bars by Emily.

Emily and I are fully convinced they are all that is good and right with the world. Proof of a higher power, life after death, and that unicorns do exist.

Casey is unimpressed. She prefers the dark chocolate caramel with coconut.

So Internets, are you Team Sea Salt or Team Coconut?

12 thoughts on “Sleep, Mothers, And Chocolate Bars

  1. poohzcrew says:

    After having homemade sea salt caramels in Normandy, I kinda have a thing for that combo. Adding dark chocolate makes me swoon. As for the Ambien, I rather enjoy it myself, and I’ve never had any weird stuff happen. It’s just that even with Ambien, I never felt rested, and the sleep study told me why.

  2. REK981 says:

    I love salt more and only like coconut but I will have to try both first to be sure…Since I’m no where near TJ’s it may be ages before I have the opportunity to try them. I’ll get back to you though.

Leave a Reply

