Hot Chocolate Rice Crispy Treats Or Why I Win At Pinterest

A few days ago I was four hours in browsing around Pinterest and came across a recipe for hot chocolate rice crispy treats. I pinned it and moved on. (Uh, if you don’t understand Pinterst, I highly recommend Brittany’s explanation here. And let me speak for all the single girls everywhere when I say that, yes, that is a wedding board. No, I’m not planning a wedding in the near future. No, I’m not engaged. No, I’m not dating anyone. Because fuck you, that’s why.)

When I finally looked at the actual recipe I realized she’d added way too many steps. Rice crispy treats should not have that many steps. So, armed with The Lazy I did it my own way. Parenthetical aside: I’m super good at this in all areas of life. Like, I’m okay at creating my own thing, but what I really excel at is taking your crappy idea and changing it and making it awesome. End parenthetical aside.

Full disclosure: I add a teaspoon of vanilla to my rice crispy treats, but that’s not an extra step that’s just good common sense. Also, delicious. I also put my rice crispy treats in bread pans because why have lots of tiny treats when you can have like, four giant ass ones?

So, after melting the butter and the marshmallows and putting in the vanilla I added two packets (roughly 6 tablespoons) of Swiss Miss with marshmallows. I know, right? I’ll let that sink in for a minute.

.

.

.

Basking in my awesomeness yet? Good. Mix that in then add your rice crispies and bam!

Now, these were a little light on the hot chocolate taste, so I would probably add another packet or two next time (and there will be a next time) I make them. Also, they make my mouth tingle a little after I eat one, but that’s probably just because according to the box the hot chocolate expired in November. Of 2009. But hey! Waste not want not. Also, beggars can’t be choosers. The early bird gets the worm. Reach for the moon and you’ll land among the stars.

What was I talking about? Or right, hot chocolate rice crispy treats. Despite the mouth tingles, they’re still super tasty. Evidenced by the fact that this is all that’s left.

*Also, despite my efforts (and despite the html saying otherwise) wordpress is refusing to re-size my photos to anything that isn’t GIANT. Bygones.

**Found a work around, but if anyone knows of an actual fix to get WordPress to resize photos linked from a url? I will love you and hug you and squeeze you and call you George.

9 thoughts on “Hot Chocolate Rice Crispy Treats Or Why I Win At Pinterest

  1. 1) I like the giant pictures.
    2) I also have some VERY expired hot chocolate. I think we both know what I should be doing with that.
    3) I’m glad I could subliminally (or overtly) suggest you write a post about hot chocolate rice krispies.
    4) I’m off to Pinterest to pin this instead of that ‘too-many-steps hot chocolate rice krispies’ I’ve already pinned.

  2. I have a tin of *mint* flavored hot chocolate that I was about to toss out because it expired in July 2009. It’s the really awesome kind from William-Sonoma with actual shaved chocolate too. (I write this is utter shame that I let such a travesty come to pass) Well, apparently I should sigh no more and go buy some rice crispies! Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

