And Then I Found Five Dollars

It happens to everyone at some point. You’re rambling along, telling a story that somewhere near the beginning you were sure had a point, but usually about halfway through you lose it. No one’s really listening, or if they are they have no idea where you’re going with it, or why you’re even telling it. In college we’d end with, And then I found five dollars so that the story had some redeeming quality. The higher the amount of money, the lamer the story. I had my fair share of five dollar stories. Twenty dollar ones, too.

These days I feel like every time I sit down to write I could end it with, And then I found five dollars. My brain is foggy and I lose the point halfway through. I wrote for 30 days straight and only 20% of it feels like me. I don’t know how to cut through the fog. Behind the fog are all my points, my funny, my intentions, my me.

I keep trying to cut through the fog, but it doesn’t seem to be working. I want my me back.

9 thoughts on “And Then I Found Five Dollars

  1. Girl, I feel you. We’ve all been there. Punkinmama is right, just keep writing and you’ll be back. It’s so frustrating though, I know. I figure if I spew out enough crap something good will fly out when I least expect it.

  2. mountainmissy says:

    Hi Shireen,
    Found ya through a link on Casey’s blog..
    I like your style lady. I want so badly to write and be so prolific in my writings but there is so much fog ( as you said ) that I can’t seem to make any sense of what’s in my head.
    sigh
    I’m not good at patience either. I’m more of an instant gratification person.
    Just wanted to let you know I support you! And I’ll be here to read your next posts! πŸ™‚
    Mel

Leave a Reply

