I Am

I am from orange couches, from Glow Worms and Lite Brites.

I am from the ranch house with blue shutters, the big oak tree in the backyard and catching fireflies in the warm summer nights.

I am from the honeysuckle bushes and hummingbirds on trips to visit my grandma.

I am from a clan of nappers and tahdeeg stealers, from bedtime stories in English and Farsi, from Southern Baptists and Muslims (lapsed, the both of them.)

I am from people pleasers and stubborn blood.

From How Much Is That Doggie In the Window and Hush Little Baby Don’t Say a Word.

I am from finding your own way. Finding hope.

I’m from Buckyeyes, Hoosiers and Persians, from lemon bars and Shirin Polo.

From the first time I said fuck under the Magnolia tree, from road trips to Ohio, and the day our dog found us.

I am from photos in the cedar chest in sticky spiral bound albums. From early morning swim practices and late night swim meets. From learning that not everyone had a family member from Iran. From parents who loved me better than anyone else could have.

I am from doing things the hard way, but being all the better for it in the end.

This little meme went around awhile ago, and I am nothing if not a sheep. If you haven’t done it, come back and link me, would ya?

2 thoughts on “I Am

  1. Amanda says:

    I love this. And I love getting a blog post from you every day. Keep it up, otherwise I’ll complain. 😉
    xoxo
    Amanda/theswandive

Leave a Reply

