Hold On Hope

But I will hold on hope, and I won’t let you choke on the noose around your neck.

The Cave – Mumford and Sons

I hear, you just have to have faith,  a lot and I always correct it in my head. You may have faith, but I have hope. Faith, to me, is tied to God, to religion. I have no desire whatsoever to talk about religion on this blog, so for simplicity’s sake I’ll just say that I don’t have religion. Not the organized kind, anyway. And when I hear the word faith I think of stained glass windows, and preachers at pulpits and a host of other things all revolving around the big man upstairs, however you may view him (or her.) You put your faith in something. You have faith in God to fix, help, heal. Faith comes with the backing of God, of religion to stand behind you when you’re weak.

I have hope. Hope is trickier, from where I’m standing. Hope is more nebulous and uncertain. It relies on no one and nothing but yourself. For you to continue carrying that hope, even when it’s easier to set it down. There are times when I wish that I had faith, the grass being greener and all that.

But what I have is hope and I’m going to do my damnedest to hold on to it.

4 thoughts on “Hold On Hope

  1. I’ve got strong hopes in you. From where I stand, I see someone strong and creative. Someone smart who takes what life hands her and triumphs. You are more than a survivor. I’m not sure what the exact word is for someone like that, but that’s what you are.

Leave a Reply

