Books You Must Read Now Right Now

Last month I headed to South Carolina for Yallfest, a young adult book conference. I roadtripped with some of my favorite people the internet has ever brought me, laughed and drank more than I have in ages, fangirled all over my favorite authors and taught my favorite internet people just what I mean when I say I’m a cuddler. You want personal space? TOO BAD. NOT HERE YOU DON’T. And after wrangling Emily to stop in and watch George Weasley, because apparently I’m a special brand of crazy cat lady who can only adopt cats that are 18 kinds of needy and no you can’t just leave a clean litter box and a bag of food out, I need you stop in every day and please assure me that he hasn’t dropped dead in the past 12 hours. Post Traumatic Dead Cat Syndrome, it is real and alive, folks.

Thankfully Emily is accustomed to my particular brand of crazy and sent me proof of life photos every day. The only thing she asked in return was a reading list. And since I’ve said I’m going to write here every week I thought: two birds! one stone! And what with tomorrow being Thanksgiving which means Friday is Black Friday which means dear Thor in Asgard it’s practically Christmas: shopping list. Yes. That.

I present unto you: Books You Must Read Now Right Now

  • Attachments by Rainbow Rowell. Rainbow has written three amazing books – Fangirl being her most recent. She is one of us. And while I loved Fangirl, my heart is fully with Attachments. Someone find me a Levi.
  • Anna And The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. Fluffy, happy, funny, smart. If you don’t swoon over this book (and it’s follow ups), I don’t know if we can be friends. Stephanie was at Yallfest and she’s written about depression before on her blog, but hearing her talk about it kind of broke me. I may or may not have accosted her, sobbed all over her for creating a dialog about mental health when she has such a young and impressionable fanbase and how I wish that 16 years ago I’d had someone like her to let me know I wasn’t alone.
  • Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened by Allie Brosh. You probably know her blog. I would have bought this book just to have her depression posts in hard copy. I would have bought this book if she had just illustrated the alphabet.
  • Coda by Emma Trevayne. Full disclosure: Emma is a friend of mine. I love her dearly, but even if I didn’t I’d tell you to read this book. I had the chance to read this before it was published and I’ve been dying to have hard copies to shove at my friends. Now is that time. Dystopian future, music, and whip smart writing. You won’t be sorry.
  • Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren. DADDY STOP READING PLEASE. *ahem* I’m fortunate enough to call these ladies friends as well (NO I HAVE NO SHAME ABOUT HUMBLEBRAGGING ABOUT MY AUTHOR FRIENDS. WHAT OF IT.) But we have left dystopia. Need a little smut? I am begging you, please stop reading that 1000 shades of monochromatic shit. Read this. Read all the follow-ups. Well written smut. It’s a thing. It’s a glorious, glorious, dirty thing.
  • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. Hoshit. I love this book so much. I love the way she writes. I don’t write in my books often, but this book is COVERED. Marking all the little turns of phrase, marveling at the way she uses the English language, remembering THIS. THIS is why I fell in love with reading and writing.
  • Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. This one took me by surprise. I’ve read a lot of young adult, dystopian books lately. But it’s not really dystopian. It’s only young adult in the fact that the characters are teens. Kind of. You’ll see.

Honestly, this list could be 10 times longer. Gimmie all your books.

What have you read lately that’s on your NOW RIGHT NOW list?

2 thoughts on “Books You Must Read Now Right Now

  1. Fantastic! I’ll be adding these to my library list. I am really into the Year of the Chick series by Romi Moondi. It’s a hilariously funny, semi-autobiographical series about an Indian-Canadian girl trying to avoid arranged marriage.

  2. I just finished “Gone Girl” a couple of weeks ago and I’ve been in serious book depression since (same way I felt after I finished “Eleanor & Park”). So glad you saved me – adding them all to my library list!

Leave a Reply

