The One Where I Ignore My Blog Because I’m Boring

So, remember when I was all, “I have discovered my writing mojo! I am going to write and write and write! No running, just writing!” Uh, yeah. Except I’ve been staring at a blinking cursor of death on a blank word document for 2 weeks and my mind is blank. Like, there’s not even a blinking cursor of death in there. Just blank.

When I wrote that post I had 8 million ideas all of them witty and funny and brilliant and I totally don’t need to write them all down because I’m going to remember them all because they are witty and funny and brilliant and I am an idiot. I remember nothing. And then I read The Bloggess and I curl into a ball and start rocking back and forth. But I think that’s like a rite of passage or something in the blogging world. So, uh, yay?

And truthfully, not a whole lot is going down at the Apartminium lately. Although there is a boy who works at Yats that has taken to playing his trumpet in the alley between our buildings. And strangely it’s not nearly as annoying as you might think.

So what can I tell you? I could tell you about the take your nipples off water pressure the Apartminium has acquired.

Tweet Screen

Except, that well, that’s really all there is to that story. I don’t know why it happened but considering previously the water pressure couldn’t so much be called water pressure so much as a slow trickle of water vaguely headed downward? I’m not going to complain. Until I lose a nipple.*

Also, the fact that I get excited over things like water pressure might be why I’m single.

I could tell you about Barnes and Noble’s completely stupid default setting of “ship all at once” so if you order a book and pre-order another book so that you qualify for free shipping that’s not coming out until August? They won’t ship anything until August, which is 6 weeks away…except Kristin beat me to it since apparently we had the exact same thing happen. Although, I’m fairly certain the other book she ordered wasn’t Modernity in Iran. Also, I’m fairly certain the customer service rep, when replying to the sternly worded email about the stupidity of this hidden default setting, didn’t mock her and say, “Hey fool, you chose to ship everything at once. Delete the pre-order and we’ll ship the other book. Hey also? Isn’t Modernity in Iran kind of an oxymoron?” Barnes & Noble customer service rep? While I appreciate the swiftness of your response (less than 12 hours!) I don’t appreciate your clever remarks.

I don’t know why, but I may have squeed outloud when I saw that the comment below mine? Jen freaking Lancaster! Which means that we were reading the site around the same time. Which means that we were probably writing our responses and hitting “post” around the same time. Which means I was thatmuch closer to Jen freaking Lancaster…you know, on the interwebs. And shut up I’m not a stalker I just get excited over the little things.

*It should be noted that no nipples have been lost at the time of publication.

14 thoughts on “The One Where I Ignore My Blog Because I’m Boring

  1. You do realize that you mentioned your nipples twice that day on Twitter, right?

    Making it even harder for me to mention someone’s “tweets” without giggling. Not nice.

    • justshireen says:

      Well, technically the second mention wasn’t so much to MY nipples, just that anyone stepping into my shower had the potential to lose their nipples.

      And the first mention more alluded than flat out stated…yeah, okay. Sorry. :-)

  2. MOM says:

    Keep at it. I love your writing.

    I read this somewhere??? Write down topics about things you love, hate, funny things that happen—to you and others….put each topic on paper in a jar and when the blank page/cursor attacks close you eyes and pick a topic.

    Mojo can be tricky…

    Loving the writing
    MOM

  3. Yes, yes, yes. I too have the most amazing blog posts in my brain. However, somewhere during the journey between my brain to my fingertips on the keyboard they end up something like “alshfdodsfshdifhypisdhf shdf iushdfiuhs” and so make no sense and then I find I can’t write anything because I have nothing to write about.

    Phew!

    Nice to meet you.
    Tania

  4. I can SO relate to this post. I can’t tell you how many times a day I open and close my laptop with not a single significant word on the page.
    Stopping by from the Blog Hop!
    ~Eve

    • justshireen says:

      I sort of sucked at the Blog Hop since I wasn’t home at. all. last weekend. Just now getting around to it. Oops.

Leave a Reply

